How to Qualify for the Players Championship Tournament

By M.L. Rose
K.J. Choi won the 2011 Players Championship.
K.J. Choi won the 2011 Players Championship.

The Players Championship – held each May at the Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida – brings together most of the world’s top golfers each year. Indeed, the tournament's field is so elite that the event is often referred to as “the fifth major.” The PGA Tour, which runs the tournament, offers a number of avenues by which top professional players can qualify for The Players Championship.

Win an official PGA Tour event since the previous year’s Players Championship.

Finish among the top 30 players on the previous full season’s FedEx Cup points list.

Be among the top 125 finishers from the previous full season’s official PGA Tour money list.

Win a major championship (Masters, U.S. Open, British Open, PGA Championship) or The Players Championship title within the previous five years.

Win the FedEx Cup as the overall PGA Tour champion during the previous three years.

Win a World Golf Championships event (Bridgestone Invitational, Accenture Match Play Championship, Cadillac Championship or HSBC Champions) during the previous three years, provided you were a PGA Tour member at the time of victory.

Finish among the top 50 players in the current season's world rankings or among the top 10 players from the current season’s FedEx Cup points list, as of a specified cut-off point.

Win the previous year’s Senior Players Championship.

Finish as the leading money winner from the previous full season's Nationwide Tour.

Be one of the players just outside the top 10 on the current season's FedEx Cup point list. If all the spots have not been filled through the other criteria, the 144-man Players Championship field is completed with PGA Tour members from the current season’s FedEx Cup points list starting with the 11th position and going in order (as of the cut-off point) until the field is full.

Home ×